Hoplamazian Honored by UJA-Federation’s Hospitality Division

NEW YORK CITY—More than 200 professionals from the hospitality industry gathered to honor Mark S. Hoplamazian, president and CEO of Hyatt Hotels Corporation, at UJA-Federation of New York’s Hospitality Division Cocktail Reception on Tuesday, June 2, 2015, at New York Marriott Marquis in New York City. The event raised $400,000 for UJA-Federation’s annual campaign to sustain its network of nearly 100 nonprofits that touch the lives of millions of people each year.

Mark S. Hoplamazian was appointed to the Hyatt Hotels Corporation Board of Directors in November 2006 and named president and chief executive officer in December 2006. Prior to holding this position, Hoplamazian served as president of The Pritzker Organization, LLC, (TPO) the principal financial and investment advisor for Pritzker family business interests. During his 17-year tenure with TPO, he served as advisor to various Pritzker family-owned companies, including Hyatt Hotels Corporation and its predecessors. He previously worked in international mergers and acquisitions at The First Boston Corporation in New York.

Hoplamazian was appointed to the VF Corporation Board of Directors in February 2015, and serves on the advisory board of Facing History and Ourselves, the Council on the University of Chicago Booth School of Business, the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors of World Business Chicago, and the boards of trustees of the Aspen Institute, and the Latin School of Chicago. He is a member of the World Travel & Tourism Council and the Commercial Club of Chicago, and is a member of the Discovery Class of the Henry Crown Fellowship.

UJA-Federation’s Hospitality Division brings together hundreds of leaders in the industry, including hoteliers, restaurateurs, financiers, and developers, and honors individuals for demonstrating leadership and philanthropy, both at work and in the community. Previous honorees include Jim Abrahamson of Interstate Hotels & Resorts, Inc.; Thomas J. Corcoran, Jr., of FelCor Lodging Trust; Eric A. Danziger of Hampshire Hotels Management, LLC; Steven R. Goldman of Groupe du Louvre; Stephen P. Joyce of Choice Hotels International, Inc.; Kirk Kinsell of Loews Hotels & Resorts; Michael A. Leven of Las Vegas Sands Corp.; Philip F. Maritz of Maritz, Wolff & Co.; Gary Mendell of HEI Hotels & Resorts; Christopher J. Nassetta of Hilton Worldwide; the late Jack A. Shaffer of Jack A. Shaffer & Co.; Arne M. Sorenson of Marriott International; and Donald Trump of The Trump Organization.


The Division’s honorary chair is Jonathan M. Tisch of Loews Hotels & Resorts, and event chairs are Jonathan Falik of JF Capital Advisors; Mark Gerstein of InterContinental Hotels Group; Mark Gordon of Tribeca Associates; Steven Kamali of Hospitality House; Jerry Lewin of Hyatt Hotels Corporation; Michele Mahl of Eastdil Secured; David A. Pepper of Choice Hotels International, Inc.; Gary Mendell of HEI Hotels & Resorts; Peter Sears of Hyatt Hotels Corporation; and Stacy Silver of Silver Hospitality Group LLC.

Previous articleLexington Adds Former Wyndham in Jacksonville
Next articleBurt Cabañas Named FIU’s Alumnus of the Year